1999: Afterword from Dune: House Atreides

Moderators: SandRider, D Pope

Hunchback Jack

1999: Afterword from Dune: House Atreides

Post by Hunchback Jack »

< We have this text because Hunchback Jack took the time and trouble,
Thanks Jack, you're the best!>

I never met Frank Herbert, but I knew him well through the words he wrote.

I read DUNE when I was ten years old, and reread it several times over the years; then I read
and enjoyed all of the sequels. GOD-EMPEROR OF DUNE, hot off the presses, was the very first
hardcover novel I ever purchased (I was a freshman in college). Then I worked my way through
every single one of his other novels, diligently checking off the titles on the "Other Books By"
page in each new book. THE GREEN BRAIN, HELLSTROM'S HIVE, THE SANTAROGA BARRIER,
THE EYES OF HEISENBERG, DESTINATION: VOID, THE JESUS INCIDENT, and more and more
and more. To me, Frank Herbert was the pinnacle of what science fiction could be --
thought-provoking, ambitious, epic in scope, well-researched, and entertaining -- all in the
same book. Other science fiction novels succeed in one or more of these areas, but DUNE
did it all. By the time I was five years old, I had decided I wanted to be a writer. By the time
I was twelve, I knew I wanted to write books like the ones Frank Herbert wrote.

Throughout college, I published a handful of short stories then began to write my first novel,
RESURRECTION, INC., a complex tale set in a future world where the dead are reanimated to
serve the living. The novel was full of social commentary, religious threads, a large cast of
characters, and (yes) a wheels-within-wheels plot. By this time, I had enough writing credits
to join the Science Fiction Writers of America . . . and one of the main benefits was the
Membership Directory. There, before my eyes, was the home address of Frank Herbert. I
promised myself that I would send him the very first signed copy. The novel sold almost