In His Words
Judge of the Change

1981: The Plowboy Interview, Complete Transcript

Post by In His Words »

Mother Earth News: May/June 1981

The Plowboy Interview: Frank Herbert
By the Mother Earth News editors
SCIENCE FICTION'S "YELLOW JOURNALIST" IS A HOMESTEADING "TECHNOPEASANT"

By profession, Frank Herbert is a science fiction author . . . and quite a successful one at that. Indeed, many of his novels are regarded as classics in the field. What's more, a major film studio is well into a yearslong project to convert Frank's Dune tales into a feature-length motion picture.

Of course, Herbert has written other distinguished fiction as well, but a list of his literary achievements would hardly serve to sum up this unique individual. The Washington State author staunchly maintains that any person's life should consist of much more than his or her work role (even if that role is a prominent one) . . . so he puts a lot of energy into his "nonprofessional" time. In keeping with his beliefs, Frank's a devoted father, spouse, and family man. He's also an avid alternative energy experimenter who's created his own solar collector, windplant, and methane fuel generator . . . all on an Olympic Peninsula homestead.
Equally important, Mr. Herbert is an outgoing social commentator who combines a strong sense of traditional values with a radical's zest for questioning (and even parodying) the basic assumptions of our culture. Staffer Pat Stone—after being sent out to Port Townsend, Washington to talk with Frank—had this to say about his encounter with the creator of the exotic, water-poor planet, Dune: