OED Citation for Yours Truly

Any old topic will do, I suppose.
Omphalos
Alien Overlord

OED Citation for Yours Truly

Post by Omphalos »

This is a little thing, but I'm happy about it. Ive been reviewing SF reference books lately, and last July I spotted an error in Jeff Prucher's book, Brave New Words, an encyclopedia of the etymology of SF terms. Here is a copy of the response I got just today. It sounds like I'm going to be credited on the OED website for writing the citation and correcting the last edition. Yippee! I'm a published SF researcher!!

IIRC, this book is a product of the Oxford English Dictionary's SF citation project. Its a good book, if you have not seen it yet. Its the best book on the subject of SF etymology that I have ever seen (there are several other, older books that deal with the topic).

OED wrote:
Omphalos wrote:
OED wrote:
Omphalos wrote:
OED wrote:Hi,

I have a large backlog of mail, and am picking my way though it bit by bit. Sorry for the delay in replying.

On 7/9/07, Omphalos wrote:

Hi,

I am in the process of reading Mr. Prucher's Brave New Words book, and I noticed an omission. The word is "plasteel." Mr. Prucher has included this word in his book, but has not included the earliest citation, and an important interim citation. He credits Harlan Ellison with a 1956 work as the first appearance of this word. The earliest use of the word I can find is by Frank Herbert, as follows:

Frank Herbert, Under Pressure, formerly titled The Dragon in the Sea. Copyright 1955, 1956 by Street & Smith Publications, Inc (USA). Copy read: Ballantine Books, August 1976, Fourth Edition.

Plasteel, p. 71, sixth full paragraph, "We could still get by with lighter stuff if it weren't for high atmospheric pressures." He went on to another tube. "What we need is a dielectric as tough as plasteel."